Few artists in modern heavy music have created such an extraordinary and unique body of work as Ihsahn. Having refined and redefined black metal with the legendary Emperor, Norway’s foremost musical extremist has spent the last decade establishing himself as a fearless and wildly idiosyncratic solo artist; however, even by his own remarkable standards, Ihsahn’s sixth solo album Arktis is a bold and mind-blowing step into the unknown.

Arktis is due for release via Candlelight/ Spinefarm Records on April 8th, pre-orders are now live, with “Mass Darkness” available as an instant grat track.

Spinefarm Records Reveals Details About New Ensiferum Compilation 

Two Decades of Greatest Sword Hits Out April 1

 Spinefarm Records has announced album details of the first compilation release of iconic pagan metallers ENSIFERUM.

Closing the Spinefarm chapter of Ensiferum’s relentless ascent to pagan metal hall of fame, the collection Two Decades of Greatest Sword Hits, out April 1, is a testimony of things past but definitely worth remembering. It is available for pre-order here.

The band, said, “Twenty years since the first notes were played in Ensiferum’s first rehearsals. I doubt that 15-years old Markus Toivonen had any idea what he had just started and what kind of journey the band would begin that day. So much has happened in 20 years, but the cornerstones of our music —folk and metal— are still there and we will keep exploring this unholy combination until we die. We have always composed songs with lots of patience and hard self critisism but still wanted to have some blink in the corner of the eye and push our musical boundaries.This compilation gives the listener great chance to hear how the bandhas evolved during these years. Enjoy and folk on!”

Complete with the band’s in-depth song descriptions and reminiscence, Two Decades of Greatest Sword Hits features 14 of the most proudly shield-pounding epic metal hymns of Ensiferum. The songs take you through the formative years of a band that became one of the biggest of its generation in the ever-expanding realm of heathen metal.


1. By The Dividing Stream
2. From Afar
3. Heathen Horde
4. One More Magic Potion
5. In My Sword I Trust
6. Token of Time
7. Dragonheads
8. Twilight Tavern
9. Burning Leaves
10. Treacherous Gods
11. Lai Lai Hei
12. Two of Spades
13. Iron
14. Victory Song


Finland’s merry metallers Reckless Love will release their fourth studio album, InVader, on March 4 via Spinefarm Records. It’s the follow-up to the colourful quartet’s 2013 release Spirit.

In Vader features all new, original materia, and sees the musicians exploring fresh sounds as well as delivering their audience-pleasing signature party anthems. It is available for pre-order with “Monster” available as an instant grat track.

“Our latest album InVader sends a fresh breeze from Finland to all over the world in March 2016,” explains drummer Hessu Maxx. “We took our time with this album and it was worth it. InVader is our boldest and most versatile album so far. We recorded these killer songs, we found the sound and it’s all there. There is nothing to add. We really nailed it this time. We are really looking forward to getting back on the road because that is where we belong. You’re going to see and hear this merry metal four piece even stronger than before.”


1. We Are the Weekend
2. Hands
3. Monster
4. Child of the Sun
5. Bullettime
6. Scandinavian Girls
7. Pretty Boy Swagger
8. Rock It
9. Destiny
10. Let’s Get Cracking
11. Keep It Up All Night (UK Bonus Track)